Rosen Center Pilot Grant Awards

Rosen Bioengineering Center Pilot Research Grants provide up to $80,000 to support collaborative early-stage projects that require sharing of ideas, people and resources between labs. The goal of the program is to help teams develop strong preliminary data that will enhance their competitiveness for large, collaborative awards from external agencies like NIH, NSF, DoD and others.


    Title: Engineered viruses for large-scale targeted genetic manipulation in mice

    Awardees: Carlos Lois and Viviana Gradinaru

    Title: Constraining the mechanisms of extracellular electron transfer (EET) in Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilms by studying the effects of eDNA-binding on phenazine reactivity

    Awardees: Dianne Newman and Jacqueline Barton

    Title: A Miniature, wireless and implantable intraocular pressure sensor

    Awardees: Yu-Chong Tai and Azita Emami

    Title: 3-Dimensional Nano-Architectures for In-Vivo Biomedical Measurements

    Awardees: Julia Greer and Joel Burdick

    Title: Visualizing nicotine entry into midbrain dopaminergic neurons

    Awardees: Henry Lester and Changhuei Yang


    Title: Dynamic single-cell imaging of long-range physical interactions among regulatory DNA elements and target genes

    Awardees: Ellen Rothenberg and Barbara Wold

Past Rosen Research Project Awards

    Frances Arnold and Richard Murray “Systems Engineering of Microbial Stress Response”

    John O. Dabiri for graphic design services to develop visual elements for an advanced biomechanics textbook

    Chin Lin Guo “Engineering Self-assembled Tubular Systems”

    Richard Murray “Forced Response Analysis of Biomolecular Circuits”

    Richard Murray, iGEM Team funding to allow a group of Caltech undergraduate students to compete in the International Genetically Engineered Machine competition

    Rob Phiillips “Teaching at the Interface: A Vision for Quantitative Biology”

    Erik Winfree hosted the 17th International Conference on DNA Computing and Molecular Programming (DNA17) at Caltech